At the north side of the Meuse-Argonne American Cemetery, lies the visitor center where visitors can rest or obtain information from the cemetery staff. The visitor center was originally the hostess house constructed in approximately 1924. It contained the office of the superintendent, a kitchen, dining room, living room and eight bedrooms for guests. Today, a burial register is maintained at the building, and all visitors are encouraged to sign it before leaving the cemetery. Burial locations and memorialization sites in all the cemeteries run by American Battle Monuments Commission, as well as additional information concerning these overseas cemeteries or local history, may be obtained from the cemetery staff.